ICF wins 2nd Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial Hockey Tournament

ICF wins 2nd Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial Hockey Tournament


New Delhi : 5 Vaisakha, Saka 19  Thursday,  25 April  2019                       

            2nd Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh Memorial International Hockey Tournament was held at Astro Turf Hockey Ground, 3 Base Repair Depot, Air Force, Chandigarh from 15th  April to 25th  April 2019. A total of 16 teams participated in this tournament. Apart from the elite Indian teams, Air Force teams from Ban gladesh and Sri Lanka also participated in this edition, making it truly an international event. The opening cer emony of the event was held on 16 Apr 19. Air Marshal RKS Shera AVSM VSM, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chi ef, Maintenance Command was the Chief Guest for the Ceremony.  Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa PVSM AVSM YSM VM ADC, Chief of the Air Staff was the Chief Guest for the Closing Ceremony. The final match was played today between Integrated Coach Factory, Chennai and South Central Railway, Hyderabad. +

            In a nail biting finish, SCR, Hyderabad was leading 2-1, when, ICF, Chennai came back into the match leve lling the score with a scintillating goal scored by Deepak in the 60th minute. ICF, Chenn ai won the match def eating SCR, Hyderabad in the Penalty Shoot out round by 7-6. Mohit and Sanjay scored 02 goals each while Shy am Kumar and Deepak scored 01 goal each for ICF, Chennai. For SCR, Hyderabad Sheshe Gowda, Raju Pal and Ayush Dwivedi sco red 03, 02 and 01 goal respectively. Deepak of ICF, Chennai had be en adjudged the best pla yer of the tournament. A total of 31 matches were played in the tournament wherein 202 Goals have been sco red. CAS awarded the coveted trophy to the winners. He also felicitated the runners-up team and the members of the organising committee.

            Colonel GS Gill, Former Indian international Hockey player, Mr. Harpal Singh, Inte rnational hockey player, Group Captain RK Raksha (Retd), Former Services hockey player and Secretary Services Sports Control Board and Colonel Balbir Singh (Retd) who represented India in the 1966 Asian Games and 1968 Olympics were also felicitated today.

   * * * *